Casa Luz : Part 2

June 8, 2010 at 8:44 pm Leave a comment

.:{Sin Palabras}:.

There aren’t words for my volunteer experience in Costa Rica. I guess that’s why I haven’t written much on my blog about Casa Luz. It’s an experience. Something I feel like a blog can’t really capture.

  • It’s the hugs and “Kelsey!” screams I am greeted with by the little kids everyday.
  • It’s the craziness that is Fanny who I work with in the kitchen.
  • It’s the moments when the moms actually open up and talk to me after months of being guarded.
  • It’s the feeling of being completely out of my comfort zone when I walked into Casa Luz the first day, and now walking in feeling confident and relaxed.
  • It’s the ability to be able to carry on a conversation with the workers when I couldn’t even understand them at first.
  • It’s connecting with the girls.
  • It’s having a terror-child actually calm down and listen to you when you talk to them (or at least pretend to).
  • It’s the skills I have learned when it comes to dealing with children.
  • It’s dancing with the kids at the end of the day, and seeing their faces light up with the first note of the “Hi-Five” song.
  • It’s the feeling of feeling needed.
  • It’s the smiles.
  • It’s the tears.
  • It’s the daily “hola’s” and “hasta luego’s.”
  • It’s a moment when you feel like what you are doing is worth while.

Although my experience at Casa Luz is completely different from anything I thought it would be, I am so happy that I have had the opportunity to work there for the last 4 months. It’s these moments that I am going to remember forever.

Entry filed under: Casa Luz, Happiness, La Guácima, Little Victories, Ninos. Tags: , .

My Host Dad Makes Me Smile The One Thing That Really Matters

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


