I Just Want A @#%#$! Swimsuit!

March 28, 2010 at 7:22 pm 4 comments

.:{Perhaps I Will Go Naked}:.

I am in Costa Rica. There are many beaches here. People need swimsuits for the beach. And people need to go to stores to buy these suits. So, why is it so hard for me to find a @#%^$ swimsuit in Costa Rica?!?!?!

As I am volunteering, and trying to save money, I am looking for a relatively cheap suit. Nothing fancy. Just something that covers the places that need to be covered—aka no hoochiness— is of decent quality, and isn’t going to gobble up my monthly allowance. Well, apparently that is too much to ask for. For the last week I have been on a quest to find a swim suit.

I first went with the other volunteer to a cheap bargain store that her host dad raved about, only to find a selection of 5 swimsuits all of which would make a great wardrobe for a Playboy Bunny. So, off we went to another store, where even the largest size didn’t leave much to the imagination—apparently Costa Ricans have a thing for small bikinis—I on the other hand do not. Then I went to a local mall where there were only 2 stores selling swimsuits… let me rephrase, there were only 2 stores hoping to sell their insanely expensive swimsuits. Not only were the prices a bit much, but the fact that the lady working at the store had to look over my shoulder at everything I was perusing didn’t make for the most appealing situation. Next!

So, off to another “better” mall with my host sisters, who were also on a quest to find a swimsuit. Now, this actually is a really good mall (and I stupidly teared up a little in it because it was the first time I had experienced something that truly reminded me of the US… oh the emotions of shopping). The first store we went into only sold either insanely expensive, or insanely tiny swimsuits. STRIKE ONE. The next store actually had great suits that were cheap, but they wouldn’t let me try on the bottoms (“even with underwear on?” I asked) which really is the main factor for me in deciding on a suit… so… STRIKE TWO. Then we found this great store that had tons of swimsuits, they were a little expensive but not completely out-of-reach. Best of all, there was a section of separates, and I really only need a “top” as I already have a bottom that I can use (which is better because it makes things cheaper). So, here I am, ecstatic to have found two bikini tops, and happily waiting by the dressing rooms to try on my two finds. Well, the lady working tells me that I can’t just by a top. “What? I can’t buy just a top? But the tops and bottoms are sold separately.” I say. To which she says, “No, sorry. You have to buy a bottom if you want to buy a top.” Ugh STRIKE THREE.

Hopefully, I will have more luck next time around. Note to self: shopping in the US is much easier than in Costa Rica. Be grateful for this convenience in the future.

Entry filed under: Beach. Tags: , , , .

Writing for La Vida Idealist An Overdue Update

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chris gryniewicz  |  March 29, 2010 at 11:01 am

    frustration!! How crazy for a tropical location!

    Reply
  • 2. Erin Campbell  |  March 30, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Well you could just roll with it and wear a suit that shows off most of your butt. Ha ha!

    Reply
  • 3. Caroline  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Here’s a mission for you- try finding a 36DD bra in Costa Rica… Even in San Jose they only go up to a B!!! There’s an experience I’d love to have back…

    Reply
  • 4. An Overdue Update « Pura Vida  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    […] so here’s the deal, I realize that it has been about 2 months since my last blog post. This is unacceptable. I know. And actually to me, it really only felt like it had been a month, so […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


