Playa Dominical Part 2

March 16, 2010 at 11:52 am 6 comments

.:{Buses, Burns, Beauty, Bliss}:.

A bus, a taxi, another bus, a night in San Isidro (to meet up with my friend who also went to with me) and another bus later I had arrived in Dominical: a beach town located in the Puntarenas province, a little south of Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Instead of writing a full out blog, I decided to break this post down to the main “lessons” I learned during my weekend in Dominical. Enjoy 🙂

Lessons learned on the bus (San Jose to San Isidro):

1) I am directionally challenged
2) The online schedule and the actual schedule do not match.
3) You have to pay to use the bathrooms in the bus station, and when you don’t realize this will look like an idiotic foreigner.
4) There are assigned seats. If you don’t realize this you will end up changing seats multiple times and again looking like an idiotic foreigner.
5) Don’t sit in the front of a bus in Costa Rica, unless you enjoy seeing your life flash before your eyes… several times.
6) Talk to the people sitting next to you. They may end up showing you a song that reminds them of you (old man-creepy) or they may help you find your way to your destination (could have been sketchy, but was a nice guy, and definitely necessary for my directionally challenged self).

Lessons learned in Dominical:

1) Clouds are deceiving. Just because there are clouds, don’t think you can sit in the sun longer. You will burn, badly. And end up burning the back of your legs so bad that your skin is feels like it got a face-lift, so much so that you can’t straighten your legs so you have to walk around like you’re constipated.
2) Aloe vera gel serves multiple purposes: it helps sunburns, it can act as hair gel, you can use it for shaving, for after shaving, all other burns, to prolong a tan, or to remove make-up (as it says on the back of the bottle I had to buy in Dominical for my terrible burn).
3) Go to the Maracatu restaurant for great organic, local/sustainable/vegetarian food, but not for the nightlife
4) Prepare yourself when you order a casado dish (local mixed-plate dish) with chicken as it may actually turn out to be fish-chicken/some other unidentifiable animal.
5) Stay at the Tortilla Flats hostel. It’s right on the beach, close to everything. Great simple rooms. Nice restaurant outside. Cheap.
6) I absolutely love beach towns, and could definitely be a beach bum at some point in my life. I love love love love loved Dominical. Just the feel of the place was great. More built up than Guacima, but definitely not super touristy. There is a charm to Dominical. There are lots of local surfer/hippie types there, and the beach was beautiful.
7) Go to Dominical

The many towels, sarongs, and tapestries being sold between the trees in Dominical

My view laying on the beach 🙂

Dominical Beach, one of the many surfers there

Dominical=Beautiful


Entry filed under: Beach, Costa Rica, Food, Happiness, Playa Dominical, Sunburns. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Playa Dominical Casa Luz : Volunteering

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  March 16, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Ha ha, oh man love it! I am glad you enjoyed your weekend, sounds eventful, fun and pretty much amazing! Saw your mama on Friday, it was quite nice, miss you chica!

    Reply
  • 2. chris gryniewicz  |  March 17, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Loved your blog! My Mom warned me about getting sunburned on cloudy days many yrs ago–thought I had passed on that info along the way too. Dominical sounds great–love the pics of the beach–know I would love it too. Hugs.

    Reply
  • 3. Erynn Campbell  |  March 17, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Poor Kels, all burned up like a lobster and also looking like an idiot tourist. LOL!!! You make me laugh. The beach looks amazing and remember, sunscreen = good! Miss you!

    Reply
    • 4. pocketchangeit  |  March 22, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      Yes, yes as the entire backside of my legs are now peeeling, when I go to the beach again in a week I will be bringing tons of sunscreen along.

      Reply
  • 5. dad  |  March 19, 2010 at 10:14 am

    sounds like something I would do–(the idiot tourist part) enjoyed the info that I propbably will never use. Enjoyed the pics. Love and miss you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


