Drink What the Locals Drink

March 4, 2010 at 11:01 am 5 comments

.:{¡Cuidado! con Cacique}:.


Here in Costa Rica there is a popular cane alcohol called “Guaro.” It’s similar to vodka but with a milder taste. Guaro is great for mixed drinks but ¡Cuidado! because it’s stronger than you realize. I experienced this last night (yes, a wednesday) when I met up with the other volunteer here. We were intending on having a quick drink together after work, as we are realizing is necessary when you work with little screaming kids all day, but our quick drink turned into a night out with her neighbor and his friends. We ended up going to a local bar and drinking demasiado Cacique—“too much Cacique” (Cacique is the most popular brand of guaro here). Needless to say, this morning was not my best morning here in Costa Rica. However, I discovered that a good breakfast consisting of a yummy tamale, sweet bread, coffee, mucho agua, and melon followed by a walk with my host mom is one spectacular cure for too much guaro.

Our crazy bartender—I'm pretty sure he was on drugs

Me and the other volunteer Emma with the crazy bartender

Entry filed under: Cacique, Friends, Loco, Pura Vida. Tags: , , , .

My Second Week in Costa Rica Cartago

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erynn Campbell  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Hi sis – the picture of the bartender made me laugh. Glad to see you are having a good time and getting out and having some fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Caroline  |  March 5, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Please tell me you had the infamous “Guaro sour.” B/c that is the ONE drink I seriously miss from that place.

    Also Bavaria rojo is beautiful as it has 6% alcohol 🙂 Que borracha! haha

    Good for you girl for getting out there and having a good time!

    Reply
    • 3. pocketchangeit  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:03 am

      It wasn’t Guaro Sour- although I need to try that. It’s was only guaro with ginger ale- which is tasty but deadly. I will definitely have to try the bavaria rojo (which my host family was telling me about the other day). Hope all is well with you in North Carolina!!!!

      Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I know I asked for a foreign man in an earlier post, but I’ll let you keep the bar tender. Lol. Aren’t I generous?? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


