My Second Week in Costa Rica

March 2, 2010 at 10:43 am 2 comments

.:{Solo Bueno}:.

My second week in Costa Rica is officially complete.

Me with one of my spanish teachers-Carlos-after I finished my classes I received a nice little certificate.

I am now finished with my language classes—which I must admit, I am going to miss. I have heard about other people not liking the classes because they are a little intense and last for 4 hours/day, but I loved them. Not only did I get to learn Spanish, but I also had the opportunity to learn about life in Costa Rica from the locals. Everyday I had the chance to ask about a subject whether it was how to get around La Guacima or the relationships between CR men and women. All of the language teachers are super nice and I think that anyone doing this same program should definitely consider taking the classes.

In addition to loving the classes, this week was particularly fun because there was another group of students at El Rancho Espanol taking classes. Everyone in the group was from Wisconsin and was probably around their mid-40‘s and above. One lady from the group was living with my same family for the week and she was spectacular. So fun and friendly, and even though she didn’t know a whole lot of Spanish (but she did learn a lot in her short time here), she always made an effort to speak with the family. Since, she didn’t speak too much Spanish I got to plan the role of interpreter between her and the family which was really fun and made me realize that I have already learned quite a bit of Spanish in my short time here.

Making Pineapple Empanadas with the teacher and the group from Wisconsin

Everyone else in the group was super nice as well (I am definitely going to miss them). We all took salsa dancing lessons together, and a cooking class as well where we made Pineapple Empanadas. I absolutely LOVED the salsa dancing lessons, and am definitely going out dancing with either my family here or some of the instructors from El Rancho.

Since the other group was here, I was also able to tag along with them to eat at two of the main restaurants here in Guacima: Anthony’s and a Pizzeria. Anthony’s has typical CR food and the Pizzeria may be the best Pizza that I have had in a while. Who would have thought I would find excellent italian food in Costa Rica?

I also spent a full week volunteering at Casa Luz, and a full Saturday as well (my first full day there as I was only doing half days before because of my classes). I have mixed feelings about my work at Casa Luz, so that blog post is soon to come. But I absolutely love the little kids there (they are beyond cute) and although I haven’t had much interaction with the mothers, I can tell that they are some pretty strong and amazing girls.

Hope that everyone is doing well!  I will be writing a post soon about my trip alone to San Jose as well, so stay on the look out for that. As always, keep me posted on your adventures!

Saludos!

Kelsey

Entry filed under: Casa Luz, Food, Friends, Happiness. Tags: , , , , .

My First Week in Costa Rica Drink What the Locals Drink

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    How fun, kels! I cant wait to hear your Spanish madness! How’re the ants? Have you reach a peace agreement yet? I think some of them have infiltrated my home. As I was laying here (über sick) ants would periodically crawl on me, my computer, my blankets, everything. I thanked them and tried to send them back to you, but alas, they declined. My dog ate one but has refused to eat others, perhaps the crawling down the esophagus wasn’t ideal lol. Well I can’t wait to hear about your work and San Jose! I’m in the market for a hunky foreigner so if you find one, send him my way 😉

    love you!

    Reply
    • 2. pocketchangeit  |  March 9, 2010 at 7:46 am

      Oh no Jess, the hormigas have transferred to Colorado?! Yikes! As much as I would like to tell the ants here to call their family in Colorado and tell them to come back to CR, I’m thinking that I don’t need any more hormigas here. I’ll see what I can do about a good hunky foreigner for you 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


