Taking in the Costa Rican Culture

February 16, 2010 at 12:55 pm 1 comment

.:{Learning Curves}:.

Well today is day 3, well day 2 if you want to count “full” days, and I already feel like I have been here for forever. The learning curve is huge and it’s amazing how much a person can take in, in just 3 days. As I said in my previous post, the language barrier was a bit frustrating, but I am learning A LOT and my host family has even said that my Spanish has improved a lot compared to the first day. I am taking Spanish classes for 2 weeks before I start volunteering, and they really helpful. I am actually the only student in the school (the school is kind of a go-to place for tourists and locals for internet, to live, etc.) so I get one-on-one lessons for four hours every day which is amazing. Tomorrow I go to Casa Luz, the place I’m volunteering at, to meet with the director and have una entrevista, an interview. I’m excited to see where I will be working and to get to know the people at Casa Luz.

Things are still going well with my family. Mi mama tica is a great cook, and I love everything that she makes. And she is so nice and considerate. For example, yesterday, I told her that I liked pineapple, and today she had pineapple out for breakfast. Since she is the ama de casa (house mom) I see her the most out of the whole family, but the rest of the family is really nice too.

More updates to come!

Entry filed under: Costa Rica, Family.

Costa Rica, HERE WE COME! Part 2 Ants in my Pants

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. chris gryniewicz  |  February 17, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Love your little room and bathrm!! Always a little decorating to make it “yours”! Dad says hi too (just read your blogs that I pulled up and saw your pics) and sends lots of hugs and love. We miss you, but so excited for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hola

Recent Posts

Click Below to get my new posts sent to your inbox!

Feeds


